1. Outstanding In-House Counsel of the Year Award

        Established in 2015, the Outstanding In-House Counsel of the Year Award is presented by the Board of?Governors to an Arizona in-house counsel that has made outstanding contributions to the in-house counsel practice and the community at large. The recipient of this award is a respected strategic and innovative leader who exemplifies the following traits: sound and trusted judgment, excellent legal and business acumen, vision, leadership, integrity and ethics.

        2019 Recipient

        Special Merit

        Since January 2000, Nona Lee has served in legal roles for the Arizona Diamondbacks, Phoenix Suns, Phoenix Mercury, Arizona Rattlers, Chase Field, US Airways Center and Dodge Theater, elevating from Associate General Counsel for the Phoenix Suns to Executive Vice President & Chief Legal Officer for the Arizona Diamondbacks, having started the legal department at the Diamondbacks in 2005.?? Lee assisted in the negotiations of several significant transactions, including negotiations with FOX Sports Arizona on a 20-year extension that began in 2016, and is the largest financial transaction in franchise history.? She also assisted with negotiations for the building and use of Salt River Fields at Talking Stick, the Arizona Diamondbacks Spring Training home.?

        Lee has held several leadership positions in sports, including serving as President of the Sports Lawyers Association, Founder of the Phoenix Women’s Sports Association, Member of the Trustee Emeritus Group for the Women’s Sports Foundation, Advisory Board Member for the Arizona State University Sports Law and Business Program, and Member of the Board of Advisors for the National Sports Law Institute at Marquette School of Law.?? She is also a member of the commercial and sports law panels of the American Arbitration Association.?


        Previous Recipients:?

        The award has been presented to:

        2016 Nima Jacobs Kelly
        2017 Michael J. O'Connor
        2018 Patrick J. Duffy
        2019 Nona M. Lee

        Copyright ©2004-2019 State Bar of Arizona